Log in | Subscribe | RSS feed

What’s New

API approves new diesel engine oil standards

2 March 2016

The American Petroleum Institute (API) announced that it has approved two new diesel engine oil standards, API Service Categories CK-4 and FA-4. During the development process, the new categories were known as PC-11 (proposed category 11).

The new service categories improve upon existing standards by providing enhanced protection against oil oxidation and protection against engine wear, particulate filter blocking, piston deposits, and degradation of low- and high-temperature properties.

API category CK-4 (called PC-11A during development) of higher HTHS viscosity (3.5 cP) is backwards compatible with current engines designed for oils category CJ-4. Category FA-4 (PC-11B) of lower HTHS viscosity of 2.9-3.2 cP—intended to reduce engine friction and provide fuel economy improvements—is not backward compatible with CJ-4.

API is now preparing to license engine oils against the new standards:

The new categories have been developed through collaborative effort between API’s Lubricants Group, the Truck & Engine Manufacturers Association (EMA) and the American Chemistry Council (ACC).

Source: API